Breadcrumbs

Home Technical Help Transferring Google apps emails from one user to another | Deleting Google apps emails
Transferring Google apps emails from one user to another | Deleting Google apps emails PDF Print E-mail
Written by Tom   

When a particular Google apps user is no longer are needed, you may want to delete the account and transfer all emails and drive data under another user or the admin user. For this exercise we will assume the deleted user emails are migrated to the admin email account.

 

To ensure no emails are lost from the deleted user, first create a label and filter under the admin gmail account with the email name of the user

 

Now log into the user gmail account and click My Account > click Sign-In & security

 

Scroll down to the Allow less secure apps: ON click to turn it on

Log back into the user gmail and go to settings by clicking the gear icon > Forwarding and POP/IMAP

 

Under POP Download click Enable POP for all mail (even mail that's already been downloaded) and Save Changes

Now log back into the admin gmail and go to settings >Accounts

 

Under Check mail from other accounts (using POP3) click Add a POP3 mail account you own

In the next popup window enter the email address of the user and click Next Step

 

Enter username (gmail address) and password

POP Server: pop.gmail.com    Port: 995

Tick the boxes: Always use a secure connection (SSL) when retrieving mail

Label incoming messages:  (select the correct label to migrate under)

Archive incoming messages (Skip the Inbox)

click Add Account


 

Next window select No. This video demonstrate the entire process.